

## PROCLAMATION RECOGNIZING MAY 6 – 10, 2024 AS AIR QUALITY AWARENESS WEEK

WHEREAS, air quality can threaten our environment, economy, and the health of the residents of Caldwell County; and

WHEREAS, children, older adults, people with lung disease and people with heart disease are particularly affected by poor air quality, which makes up about half of all residents in Central Texas; and

WHEREAS, in 2023 air quality in the Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) was moderated or worse according to the Air Quality Index (AQI) more than 50% of days; and

WHEREAS, in 2023, the Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) exceeded the federal 8-hour ozone standard which increases the region's risk of being designated nonattainment; and

WHEREAS, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) revised the annual fine particulate matter (PM<sub>2.5</sub>) NAAQS to 9 micrograms per cubic meter, which Travis County is currently exceeding and has exceeded over the past two decades; and

WHEREAS, remaining in compliance with the NAAQS is important not only for public health, but also for the region's economy and ability to conduct transportation planning; and

WHEREAS, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has designated May 6 - 10, 2024, as National Air Quality Awareness Week; and

WHEREAS, Caldwell County supports the efforts of the Central Texas Clean Air Coalition and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to promote air quality.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE CALDWELL COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COURT THAT MAY 6 - 10, 2024 IS RECOGNIZED AS:

## "Air Quality Awareness Week"

in Caldwell County and encourages residents and employees to take action to 'Be Air Aware' and educate themselves about local air quality by visiting CAPCOG's Air Central Texas website at AirCentralTexas.org and by promoting air quality and air quality awareness within our community.

Hoppy Haden Caldwell County Judge

B.J. Westmoreland Commissioner, Precinct 1

Ed Theriot Commissioner, Precinct 3 Rusty Horne Commissioner, Precinct 2

Dyral Thomas Commissioner, Precinct 4

ATTEST:

Teresa Rodriguez
County Clerk

Proclamation